When a customer enters your website for the first time, they are anonymous.
However, their actions are already being tracked - a UUID is assigned and stored in an anonymous profile in the CRM. The same UUID is stored in the cookies of the customer’s browser.
The anonymous profile stores information about the customer’s activities, just like it does for recognized customers. The customer can now receive personalized recommendations on the website and be included in marketing campaigns.
When the customer provides an email address, the anonymous profile in CRM is updated with new data. It retains the UUID and becomes a known customer profile, which means that any activity before the customer was recognized is still present in the profile’s history. A freshly-recognized customer sees personalized content, based on their previous interactions with the website as an anonymous customer.
Resetting user UUIDs
You can reset the UUID of a user to a value provided by your application. This can be used, for example, to separate the activities of several users who share a device.
To do so, store the new UUID in a
When the SDK detects that cookie, it reads the UUID and begins using the UUID in events. The SDK deletes the cookie automatically.